An ancient form of exercise which first developed in India, yoga promotes harmony of body and spirit via physical exercises, postures, and meditation. More than just a simple activity, it often seems like a real lifestyle that provides an opportunity to develop full self-awareness, to learn better body awareness, and to live in harmony with your body.


Yoga is a practice composed of many different paths which correspond to each person's individual goals and to the different aspects of our nature. There are also distinct currents within single paths. This diversity is not a sign of weakness; rather, it is a response to each individual's expectations. It is because we do not all have the same desires and needs that there are so many varieties of yoga.


It would be too complex and laborious to name all the existing paths of yoga. This is why we have chosen to present you with the main varieties so that you can choose which one suits you best… There is nothing stopping you from trying them all and forming your own opinion!


Hatha Yoga, the most well-known path

For many Westerners, this variety sums up the practice of yoga. However, it is just one style among many others. It is primarily characterised by poses and breathing and relaxation techniques. The goal of its practitioners is to develop consciousness of their body and spirit through their breathing. It is a full-fledged spiritual path that allows one to harmonise and develop psychological abilities, such as concentration or serenity, and physical abilities such as strength and flexibility. It allows you to let go, but also to strengthen your muscles. It is a real preparation for meditation that is accessible to all, beginners or experts, children and adults.


Raja Yoga, the path between meditation and energy

This type of yoga, also called Ashtanga Yoga, includes elements of Hatha Yoga while complementing them with principles of life and of meditation. Here, the goal is to achieve the most complete expression of yoga, which is characterised by the synchronisation of breath and movement. The poses are very dynamic and the transitions are fast. This path requires a lot of flexibility and energy, a little bit like gymnastics. Its primary benefits are muscle strengthening and relaxation. It is meant for those who wish to unite meditation and energy expenditure.


Bhakti Yoga, the path of devotion

Just like Karma Yoga and Jnana Yoga, Bhakti Yoga is a path of spiritual realisation. In reality, this practice does not contain poses, it consists only of rituals of reverence, sacred chants, prayers… which add up to an approach centred on the heart. It is the yoga of universal love, adoration, although it is not a religion as such. The objective of its practitioners is to enter in contact with the supreme being by adopting a particular way of life. This discipline is therefore best suited to those wishing to orient themselves essentially towards meditation.


Karma Yoga, the path of service

This type of yoga is practised by many people without even knowing it. In fact, it is all about giving without worrying about the results of the gift. It is giving disinterestedly to one's neighbours. This is often what parents do when they give something to their children.


Jnana Yoga, the path of wisdom and understanding

This yoga allows you to develop not your factual knowledge, but your self-knowledge. It allows you to discover the wisdom of the spirit and the wisdom we have deep down in the soul. Its method is to return to the source of our thoughts.


Bikram Yoga, the path of heat

This practice involves a sequence of 26 poses to heat up and stretch the muscles, ligaments, and tendons. One of its variants is to carry out these poses in a room heated to 40°C in order to intensify the benefits of the practice. The heat allows you to work more deeply on each stretch. Bikram Yoga is meant for everyone, provided they do not suffer from heat-related health problems.


Yoga Nidra, the path of half-sleep

Yoga Nidra works on the principle of "yogic sleep", which could be compared to a trance state. It is based on relaxation, at the edge of sleep, allowing you to achieve a state of conscious half-sleep. In order to develop self-awareness, the release of the spirit is complete. The representations of this yoga are the same as in relaxation therapy. It is perfectly suited to people who are stressed, or those suffering from sleep or concentration problems.


Iyengar Yoga, the path of postural alignment

It is a more intense and more rigorous version of traditional yoga. The principle is to align the limbs through a very precise sequence of poses, sometimes combined with accessories such as blankets or benches to avoid injury. It is a real work on postural alignment, the circulatory system, and concentration. One of its benefits is to relieve the back. It is best suited to fit, young people in good physical shape.


Kundalini Yoga, the path of energy mastery

In this type of yoga, you will find fixed poses, sequences, breathing exercises, or even chants. The work is focused on the spine. The goal of its practitioners is to awaken self-knowledge through mastery of the primordial energy that is present in us all and that travels along the spine. Kundalini Yoga is meant for those already familiar with yoga.


It is up to you to find your yogic happiness!

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5